Guitars, Paramedics, Linux, and Me

November 24, 2006

Fedora Core 6: Toshiba Satellite A105-S4284 Laptop

Filed under: Linux — S. Kindley @ 6:45 pm
Tags: , ,

I’m writing to confirm that Fedora Core 6 installs fine on my new Toshiba Satellite A105-S4284. Almost everything works out of the box.

Introduction

This is NOT intended to be a step-by-step installation guide. If you require one of those try Fedora’s Installation Guide instead.

Getting the DVD Image

I downloaded the Zod-dvd-i386 torrent to get the DVD image. Once that was done I burned a copy and simply popped the DVD into the laptop and booted it up.

Installation and Package Selection

I installed and when it came time to choose packages I chose all of the available default package options and specifically checked the “customize now” checkbox and selected all of the additional packages I wanted. I did not add any additional repositories at this time. I did check the “extras” repo.

First Login
In about 30 minutes I booted into Fedora Core 6 for the first time. I logged in and started verifying that all the features of the laptop would work. Everything worked out of the box except 5 things 3 which I could not test.

1) The built in media reader – tested
2) The internal wireless card – tested
3) Express Card Slot – not tested
4) Modem – not tested
5) Media Buttons – not tested

I knew prior to installing that my wireless card would need drivers not shipped with the distribution. As expected I located them at Freshrpms but did not install them until after the Fedora Core 6 installation was complete and I had updated the system via ethernet.

Updating the System

So I launched the Software Updater application and updated all the packages that had updates and then rebooted.

Getting Wireless Working

Once the reboot was completed I added the repo for Freshrpms by downloading and installing the freshrpms-release package. Once that was done I installed the ipw3945d rpm package to get the wireless working.

In 5 minutes I had a working wireless card. Wireless works with or without wep encryption.

Getting the SD Card Media Reader Working

As root I typed in:

lspci

it returned a long list of items of which I located this entry:

07:06.2 Mass storage controller: Texas Instruments 5-in-1 Multimedia Card Reader (SD/MMC/MS/MS PRO/xD)

So taking information from that I put this line in my rc.local file.

/sbin/setpci -s 07:06.2 4c.b=02

I rebooted and logged back in. Once logged in I inserted an SD card into the slot and it automatically mounted the volume.

Built In Modem

I did not test this as I do not use a modem anymore. I have seen reports that this modem will work using the slmodem-alsa package available in various places on the internet. Perhpas I will have occasion to try this out in the future.

Multimedia Additions and Other Additions

I did go back and install most of Matthias Saou’s packages from Freshrpms. I have always liked the work he has done and his packages have what I need. Look him up.

Next I installed the flash-plugin from Mplug.org buy adding a yum repo for them. As root:

cd /etc/yum.repos.d

then do

nano macromedia-i386.repo.

In the file type in:

[macromedia]
name=Macromedia for i386 Linux
baseurl=http://macromedia.rediris.es/rpm/
enabled=1
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=http://macromedia.mplug.org/FEDORA-GPG-KEY

next save the file and type yum install flash-plugin.

I also installed RealPlayer from Real.com. They have an RPM package there. You may have to uninstall HelixPlayer first if you have it installed. rpm -e HelixPlayer will do it for you.

Colclusion

Overall I am very pleased with this laptop and with Fedora Core 6. This is the first Red Hat/Fedora laptop I’ve been able to get everything working on.

Toshiba Satellite A105-S4284 Specs

Processor Type: Core™ Duo
Processor Number: T2050
Processor Speed: 1.60GHz
Memory Size: 1024MB
Display Size: 15.4″
Display Type: Widescreen XGA with TruBrite™ Technology
Display Resolution: 1280×800
Graphics Chipset: Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 950
Graphics Memory: 8MB-128MB dynamically allocated shared graphics memory
Hard Drive Size: 100GB
Hard Drive Speed: 5400rpm SATA
Optical Drive: DVD-SuperMulti drive (+/-R double layer)
Wireless LAN: Intel® PRO/Wireless 3945ABG (802.11a/b/g)
Bluetooth: No Bluetooth (No Antenna)
Input Devices: 85 key US keyboard, Express Media Player CD/DVD launch button, Application Launch Button, CD/DVD Buttons, Internet Launch button, Hot Key Functions, TouchPad pointing device, Windows Key Function
Modem: Toshiba V.92 Modem (winmodem)
LAN: 10/100 Intel® Pro/100 VE
Audio: Intel® 82801 (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller, Standard stereo speakers, Headphone jack (stereo), Microphone jack (mono),
AC Adapter: 75W (15V 5.0A) Auto-sensing, 100-240V / 50-60Hz input
Battery Type: Li-Ion (6-cell, 4000mAh)
Battery Life: Up to 3.42 hours
PC Card Slots: 1-Type II PC Card Slot
PC Express Slot: 1-ExpressCard™ Slot
Media Port: 5-in-1 Bridge Media Adapter
USB Slots: 4-USB (2.0)
iLINK: i.LINK™ IEEE-1394
S-Video: TV-out (S Video)
Weight: 6.0 lbs.

2 Comments »

  1. Update:

    I think I have the built in winmodem working now. Unfortunately I cannot test for sure because I do not have a dialup ISP to try it with. Heck I don’t even have a telephone since I use a cell phone for my phone usage.

    But, I did this:

    I downloaded and installed this package

    Actually I created an RPM using an older RPM from ATrpms and simply updated the release and cleaned up the spec file a bit. I’ll paste the spec file at the end of this.

    After I installed the rpm I simply ran:

    slmodemd –alsa hw:0,6 –country USA which returned:

    [root@dev ~]# slmodemd –alsa hw:0,6 –country USA
    SmartLink Soft Modem: version 2.9.11 Nov 26 2006 01:15:56
    symbolic link `/dev/ttySL0′ -> `/dev/pts/3′ created.
    modem `hw:0,6′ created. TTY is `/dev/pts/3′
    Modem device: `/dev/ttySL0′
    [root@dev ~]#

    Now I mapped /dev/modem to /dev/ttySL0 by issuing this command:

    ln -s /dev/ttySL0 /dev/modem

    Now I can run the modem command I printed earlier using the -d switch for dameon mode like so:

    slmodemd -d –alsa hw:0,6 –country USA

    Using wvdial I can somewhat test to see if the things is recognized and working since it will issue an AT command. The result is this:

    [root@dev dev]# wvdial
    –> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.54.0
    –> Warning: section [Dialer Defaults] does not exist in wvdial.conf.
    –> Cannot get information for serial port.
    –> Initializing modem.
    –> Sending: ATZ
    ATZ
    OK
    –> Modem initialized.
    –> Configuration does not specify a valid phone number.
    –> Configuration does not specify a valid login name.
    –> Configuration does not specify a valid password.
    [root@dev dev]#

    As you can see I got a positive response to the ATZ command sent by wvdial to the modem. Had I had actually setup wvdial.conf with valid information and had a phone line to connect to perhpas I could verify this actually works.

    To get everything automated at boot time I simply stuck this command in my /etc/rc.d/rc.local file:


    /bin/ln -s /dev/ttySL0 /dev/modem

    I next edited my /etc/sysconfig/slmodemd file and added the line:
    COUNTRY=USA
    and saved the file.

    Next I edited my /etc/rc.d/init.d/slmodemd file at line 29 to add hw:0,6 so that it would work at boot time. The line looks like this:

    daemon /usr/sbin/slmodemd –alsa hw:0,6 ${COUNTRYARG} –daemon

    Maybe someone else out there knows and can follow up since I don’t use dialup anymore.

    My slmodem-alsa.spec file contains:

    Summary: ALSA Userspace application for several SmartLink softmodems.
    Name: slmodem-alsa
    Version: 2.9.11
    Release: 20061021
    Group: System Environment/Daemons
    License: BSD w/binary object
    Source0: http://linmodems.technion.ac.il/packages/smartlink/slmodem-2.9.11-20061021.tar.gz
    Source1: slmodemd.init
    Source2: slmodemd.sysconfig
    Patch0: slmodem-2.9.11-daemon.patch
    BuildRoot: %{_tmppath}/%{name}-%{version}-%{release}-buildroot
    BuildRequires: alsa-lib-devel
    ExclusiveArch: i386
    Requires(post): /sbin/chkconfig
    Requires(post): /sbin/service
    Requires(preun): /sbin/chkconfig
    Requires(preun): /sbin/service

    %description
    This package contains the userspace application to control SmartLink modem
    chipsets under the AC’97 or MC’97 chipset, which is used in many of todays
    laptops.
    Currently there is ‘intel8x0m’ (snd-intel8x0m) modem driver, which supports
    ICH based AC97 modems (MC97). Recent ‘alsa-driver’ (>=1.0.8) has also support
    for NVidia NForce, SiS 630 (snd-intel8x0m), VIA686 (snd-via82xx-modem) and
    ATI IXP (snd-atiixp-modem) based modems.

    After installation of this package and start of the slmodemd userspace
    application on a supported system, /dev/ttySL0 can be used to dial out with
    the internal softmodem.

    %prep
    %setup -q -n slmodem-%{version}-%{release}
    %patch0 -p1 -b .daemon

    %build
    pushd modem
    make SUPPORT_ALSA=1 EXTRA_CFLAGS=”$RPM_OPT_FLAGS”
    popd

    %install
    rm -rf %{buildroot}
    install -D -m 755 modem/slmodemd %{buildroot}%{_sbindir}/slmodemd
    install -d -m 750 %{buildroot}%{_localstatedir}/lib/slmodem

    install -D -m 755 %{SOURCE1} %{buildroot}%{_sysconfdir}/init.d/slmodemd
    install -D -m 644 %{SOURCE2} %{buildroot}%{_sysconfdir}/sysconfig/slmodemd

    %post
    /sbin/chkconfig –add slmodemd

    %preun
    if [ $1 = 0 ]; then
    /sbin/service slmodemd stop >/dev/null 2>&1
    /sbin/chkconfig –del slmodemd
    fi

    %postun
    if [ “$1” -ge “1” ]; then
    /sbin/service slmodemd condrestart >/dev/null 2>&1
    fi

    %clean
    rm -rf %{buildroot}

    %files
    %defattr (-,root,root)
    %doc README Changes COPYING
    %{_sbindir}/slmodemd
    %{_sysconfdir}/init.d/slmodemd
    %config(noreplace) %{_sysconfdir}/sysconfig/slmodemd
    %dir %{_localstatedir}/lib/slmodem

    %changelog
    * Sat Nov 26 2006 Scott Kindley
    – Cleaned up spec a bit to get it to rebuild on Fedora Core 6
    – Updated source to slmodem-2.9.11-20061021.tar.gz

    * Wed Mar 29 2006 Andreas Thienemann 2.9.11-0.lvn.1
    – Updated to 2.9.11 snapshot.

    * Thu Mar 09 2006 Andreas Bierfert
    – switch to new release field
    – drop Epoch

    * Tue Feb 28 2006 Andreas Bierfert
    – add dist

    * Tue Jul 10 2005 Andreas Thienemann 2.9.9d-0.lvn.2
    – Only builds on x86

    * Tue Jun 28 2005 Andreas Thienemann 2.9.9d-0.lvn.1
    – Repackaged for rpm.livna.org
    – Added daemonize patch, cleaned up init file
    – Added %pre and %post scriptlets

    * Tue Jun 28 2005 Andreas Thienemann 2.9.9d-1
    – Initial package

    Comment by Scott Kindley — November 26, 2006 @ 2:04 am | Reply

  2. […] I travel for a living. I log near 3000 miles per week via America’s highways and Interstates. My travel companion is my new Toshiba A105-S4284 laptop running Fedora Core 6. […]

    Pingback by Fedora Core 6: Tighten Up SSH A Bit | Guitars, Paramedics, and Linux — March 30, 2013 @ 10:22 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

